University logo

Library and Learning Services

Journals & Indexes

Direct links for NELSON and library resources.

Problems with this page? Try the basic version.

Contact the library

#
19th Century British Library Newspapers

19th Century British Library Newspapers contains full runs of 48 influential national and regional newspapers representing different political and cultural segments of the 19th century British society.

This is a single sign-on resource - you can access it with your university login or staff ID.

19th Century UK Periodicals

19th Century British Library Periodicals contains full runs of influential national and regional newspapers representing different political and cultural segments of the 19th century British society.

This is a single sign-on resource - you can access it with your university login or staff ID.

A
a-n The Artists Information Company

a-n The Artists Information Company provides artists and designers with information about jobs, exhibition opportunities, details of what's on in the arts and full-text access to several practitioner magazines.

In addition, the site provides practical information on how artists can promote their work, attract buyers and charge fees. It also lists any commissions, grants, bursaries and awards that are available to artists.

This is a single sign-on resource - you can access it with your university login or staff ID.

ABI Global

Contains journal articles from a range of subject areas including business, economics, finance and information sciences. Many articles are in full, with some abstract only. A list of included publications is available.

This is a single sign-on resource - you can access it with your university login or staff ID.

AMED

Allied and Complementary Medicine

Reference only database - Index to over 500 allied and complementary medicine journals (includes abstracts) - Produced by the British Library - Covers 1985 onwards - Starting point for Occupational Therapy and Podiatry searches.

This is a single sign-on resource - you can access it with your university login or staff ID.

American Chemical Society

A collection of full-text journals from the American Chemical Society. You can also access the legacy archives from this site (they cover 1879 - 1995).

This resource can be accessed from any library or university PC. No login is required.

Anatomy TV

Inter-active anatomy online - Detailed 3D model of parts of the human anatomy - Includes tests, quizzes and MRIs - Produced by Primal Pictures

This is a single sign-on resource - you can access it with your university login or staff ID.

Archival Sound Recordings

The British Library Sound Archive, one of the world's largest sound archives, offers a ground-breaking online digital resource of sound recordings reflecting the broad spectrum of its holdings.

This is a single sign-on resource - you can access it with your university login or staff ID.

Art Full Text

Full-text access to around 90 leading art journals from 1997 onwards and abstracts to around 300 art journals from 1984 onwards. Includes articles, reviews, and exhibition listings, and covers all aspects of art, including visual arts, performing arts, archaeology, television and video.

This is a single sign-on resource - you can access it with your university login or staff ID.

ASSIA

Abstracts around 800 journals in the social sciences and health, includes topics such as social services, economics, politics, race relations, education, business and law in society.

This is a single sign-on resource - you can access it with your university login or staff ID.

Autism Data

Autism Data is the ideal research tool for anyone researching autism and Asperger syndrome. It lists over 24,000 published research papers, books, articles, videos and other materials. There is no full-text access on the database so you will need to check the holdings of the Library.

B
BFI in view

1000 hours of non-fiction moving image titles to view or download, covering major events, developments and debates throughout the 20th century.

This is a single sign-on resource - you can access it with your university login or staff ID.

BioMed Central

Open Access, peer-reviewed biology and medicine journals. Available as e-journals only. Some titles go back to the late 1990s.

BioOne

BioOne provides a unique aggregation of high-impact bioscience research journals, featuring timely content on a wide-array of today's most pressing topics, including global warming, stem cell research, ecological and biodiversity conservation.

This is a single sign-on resource - you can access it with your university login or staff ID.

Box of Broadcasts (existing users pre-September 2011)

Please note: Box of Broadcasts will be closed from 5pm 13 December until 23 December due to a service upgrade. See the official blog for more information on the upgrade.

BoB is a service from the British Film and Video Council that enables you to record and view TV and radio online from the free-to-air channels. Licensing arrangements do not permit Open University programmes to be recorded via BoB. If you want to record an Open University programme, contact digitisation@northampton.ac.uk (01604 892383), who will arrange to record the programme to DVD for you under the OU licence.

To log in, type University of Northampton - Athens into the Where are you from? box, click Submit and log in using Athens.

Box of Broadcasts (new users from September 2011)

Please note: Box of Broadcasts will be closed from 5pm 13 December until 23 December due to a service upgrade. See the official blog for more information on the upgrade.

Note: This link should only be used by users joining after September 2011 as it may cause existing users to lose any saved playlists. If you do not have any saved playlists that you wish to keep, you can also use this link.

BoB is a service from the British Film and Video Council that enables you to record and view TV and radio online from the free-to-air channels.

Licensing arrangements do not permit Open University programmes to be recorded via BoB. If you want to record an Open University programme, contact digitisation@northampton.ac.uk (01604 892383), who will arrange to record the programme to DVD for you under the OU licence.

To log in, type University of Northampton into the Where are you from? box, then click Submit.

This is a single sign-on resource - you can access it with your university login or staff ID.

BRAD

A detailed guide to British Rates and Data covering over 13,500 contacts in the UK media industry. Includes contact details, audience and readership figures, advertising rates, production data and more.

Login details for this resource are restricted to university staff and students and require a password to view. The password is available from the library helpdesk.

BRE Connect

BRE Connect Online provides a huge resource for architects, designers, consultants, surveyors, planners, local authorities, contractors and suppliers, giving clear technical advice, practical guidance and solutions from a source you can trust.

Login details for this resource are restricted to university staff and students and require a password to view. The password is available from the library helpdesk.

Brill Journal Archive Online

Brill Journal Archive Online provides access to over fifty thousand articles from more than eighty journals published by Brill from Volume 1 Number 1 to 2009. Titles include one of the world's oldest academic journals on Chinese studies.

This is a single sign-on resource - you can access it with your university login or staff ID.

British Education Index

The British Education Index provides information on research, policy and practice in education and training in the UK. Particular strengths include aspects of educational policy and administration, evaluation and assessment, technology and special educational needs. It covers all aspects of education from preschool to higher education.

This is a single sign-on resource - you can access it with your university login or staff ID.

British Library 19th Century Collection

A digital collection of all the books published in Great Britain and its colonies during the eighteenth century, comprising some 33 million pages from more than 180,000 titles. The collection includes works in English, Dutch, French, German, Italian, Latin, Spanish and Welsh. Eighteenth Century Collections Online contains a variety of printed materials including books, Bibles, sheet music, sermons and advertisements published from 1700–1799 and the content is comprised from seven subject areas: History and Geography, Social Science, Fine Arts, Music, Art & Architecture, Medicine, Science and Technology, Literature and Language, Religion and Philosophy Law General Reference

This is a single sign-on resource - you can access it with your university login or staff ID.

British Medical Journal

Full text articles from the BMJ - published by the British Medical Association - From 1994 to the present.

This is a single sign-on resource - you can access it with your university login or staff ID.

British Newspapers 1600-1900

The British Newspapers 1600-1900 is the most significant digital collection of British historic newspapers. New conservation and imaging techniques and a new cross-searchable platform adopted by the British Library offers unparalleled access and discoverability to this valuable historical and cultural archive. In addition one will find specially commissioned essays and contextual materials written by expert scholars intended to help non-specialist users with perspective and analysis.

This is a single sign-on resource - you can access it with your university login or staff ID.

British Periodicals

This database provides access to the searchable full text of hundreds of periodicals from the late seventeenth century to the early twentieth, comprising millions of high-resolution facsimile page images. Topics covered include literature, philosophy, history, science, the social sciences, music, art, drama, archaeology and architecture.

This is a single sign-on resource - you can access it with your university login or staff ID.

British Standards Online

British Standards Online Full Text Database - Full access to selected standards and summaries of 39,000 other documents - Produced by the British Standards Institution - All dates covered - Starting point for most subject searches.

This is a single sign-on resource - you can access it with your university login or staff ID.

Burney Collection

The newspapers and news pamphlets gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757- 1817) are the largest single collection of 17th and 18th century English news media available from the British Library.

This is a single sign-on resource - you can access it with your university login or staff ID.

Business Source Premier

Business Source Premier is a business research database providing over 2,200 full text journals (including the Harvard Business Review), many with long backfiles. This database covers many subjects, including marketing, management, accounting, finance and economics. Additional full text, non-journal content includes market research reports, industry reports, country reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses.

This is a single sign-on resource - you can access it with your university login or staff ID.

C
Cambridge University Press journals

Searches all the journals published by CUP - full-text access to those subscribed to by the University of Northampton, and to the entire back file archive. This varies from title to title, but in general anything published from Vol.1 no. 1 up until 2000 is included. This publisher is very strong on the Humanities and Social Sciences.

This is a single sign-on resource - you can access it with your university login or staff ID.

Child Development & Adolescent Studies

Child Development & Adolescent Studies contains references to current and historical literature related to growth and development of children through the age of 21. Book reviews and abstracts from hundreds of journals and a bibliography of thousands of technical reports, books, book chapters, theses and dissertations covering biomedical and social sciences worldwide are indexed.

This is a single sign-on resource - you can access it with your university login or staff ID.

Cinahl Plus with Full Text

CINAHL Plus with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive nursing & allied health research database, providing full text for more than 770 journals indexed in CINAHL. It also provides indexing for more than 4,600 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health. The database contains more than 2.8 million records dating back to 1981. Useful for most health areas, with a US bias.

This is a single sign-on resource - you can access it with your university login or staff ID.

Cochrane Library

Cochrane Library Full text database - Systematic reviews of healthcare research - Produced by the Cochrane Collaboration - Covers from the first half of the 20th Century to the present. Useful for evidence-based practice.

Computers and Applied Sciences Complete

Computers & Applied Sciences Complete covers the research and development spectrum of the computing and applied sciences disciplines. It contains collected knowledge on traditional engineering challenges & research, and is a resource for research concerning the business and social implications of new technology. Subject areas include the many engineering disciplines, computer theory & systems, new technologies, and social & professional context. Research is aided by the inclusion of searchable cited references for key journals.

This is a single sign-on resource - you can access it with your university login or staff ID.

Cornucopia

An online database of information about more than 6,000 collections in the UK's museums, galleries, archives and libraries.

Creative Club

A searchable database of advertisements of a variety of media types. Includes radio,television and press ads. Please note that Windows Media Player is required to run television and other moving advertisements.

This is a single sign-on resource - you can access it with your university login or staff ID.

D
Dance in Video

Access to free learning and teaching resources, created and contributed by teaching staff from UK Further and Higher Education Institutions.

Dawsonera

A collection of electronic books on a wide range of subjects. Search or browse the database and read the books online or download for 1 or 2 days if you prefer. University login required.

To download eBooks to an Android or iOS device, you will need to follow the Dawsonera user guides.

This is a single sign-on resource - you can access it with your university login or staff ID.

Dental Nursing

Dental Nursing from Volume 2 Issue 1: Februrary 2006 to the present.

This is a single sign-on resource - you can access it with your university login or staff ID.

Design and Applied Arts Index

Design and Applied Arts Index is an international index to design and craft journals. It contains over 110,000 references from more than 450 design and craft journals published between 1973 and the present day.

This is a single sign-on resource - you can access it with your university login or staff ID.

Digimap (new users from September 2011)

Click on Login and look for University of Northampton IDP. Login with your University username and password.

This is a single sign-on resource - you can access it with your university login or staff ID.

Digital Education Resource Archive (DERA)

Institute of Education Digital Education Resource Archive(DERA) contains documents published electronically by government and related bodies in the area of education. It includes BECTA's digital publication archive.

Directory of Open Access Journals

This service covers over 1,000 free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals.

E
EBL eBook Library

Popular, professional and academic ebooks from the world's leading publishers.

This is a single sign-on resource - you can access it with your university login or staff ID.

eBook Collection (EBSCOhost)

Formerly NetLibrary. A full text collection of up-to-date electronic books. Fully searchable, can be 'checked out', read on screen or copied. Also includes general multi-subject reference works, scholarly monographs, literature and fiction, and 3,400 publicly-accessible titles.

This is a single sign-on resource - you can access it with your university login or staff ID.

EBSCO Host databases

Search any EBSCO database, including:

  • AMED
  • CINAHL with Full Text
  • Computers and Applied Sciences Complete
  • Education Research Complete
  • Historical Abstracts
  • Int Bibliography of the Social Sciences
  • Int Bibliography of Theatre & Dance
  • Medline
  • SPORTDiscus with Full Text

This is a single sign-on resource - you can access it with your university login or staff ID.

EBSCO Host databases (Moulton College Students)

Search any EBSCO database, including:

  • AMED
  • CINAHL with Full Text
  • Computers and Applied Sciences Complete
  • Education Research Complete
  • Historical Abstracts
  • Int Bibliography of the Social Sciences
  • Int Bibliography of Theatre & Dance
  • Medline
  • SPORTDiscus with Full Text

This is a single sign-on resource - you can access it with your university login or staff ID.

ECCO - Eighteenth Century Collections Online

This collection of eighteenth century books contains every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in the United Kingdom between the years 1701 and 1800 – 135,000 printed works comprising more than 26 million scanned facsimile pages. While the majority of works in ECCO are in the English language, researchers will also discover a rich vein of works printed in Dutch, French, German, Italian, Latin, Spanish and Welsh.

This is a single sign-on resource - you can access it with your university login or staff ID.

Education Abstracts

Education Abstracts provides indexing and abstracts for more than 680 periodicals and yearbooks, dating as far back as 1983. Books on education published after 1995 are also indexed. Subject coverage includes adult education, multicultural/ethnic education, teaching methods and much more.

This is a single sign-on resource - you can access it with your university login or staff ID.

Education Research Complete

Education Research Complete is a bibliographic and full text database covering scholarly research and information relating to all areas of education. Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. Education Research Complete also covers areas of curriculum instruction as well as administration, policy, funding, and related social issues.

This is a single sign-on resource - you can access it with your university login or staff ID.

Education-line

Full-text database from Leeds University. Consists of very useful conference and working papers.

Educational Administration Abstracts

Educational Administration Abstracts includes bibliographic records covering areas related to educational administration, including educational leadership, educational management, educational research, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.

This is a single sign-on resource - you can access it with your university login or staff ID.

EEBO - Early English Books Online

Early English Books Online (EEBO) contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700 - from the first book printed in English by William Caxton, through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare and the tumult of the English Civil War.

This is a single sign-on resource - you can access it with your university login or staff ID.

Emerald Emerging Markets Case Studies

Emerald Emerging Markets Case Studies (EEMCS) is an online collection of peer-reviewed case studies focusing on business decision making and management development throughout key global emerging markets. Cases are written by case writers working in or closely with developing economies, offering local perspectives with global appeal.

This growing collection of over 250 case studies also benefits from regular updates throughout the year.

This is a single sign-on resource - you can access it with your university login or staff ID.

Emerald Journals

Full articles from 125 business, accounting, marketing, health management, HRM and IS journals and abstracts of articles from many more.

This is a single sign-on resource - you can access it with your university login or staff ID.

ERIC

ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, provides access to education literature and resources. The database provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index.

This is a single sign-on resource - you can access it with your university login or staff ID.

ESDS International

Economic and Social Data Service (ESDS) International provides free access to both aggregate (macro) and survey (micro) international datasets.

The macro databanks contain socio-economic time series data for a range of countries over a substantial time period. Includes major statistical publications produced by intergovernmental organisations such as the World Bank, International Monetary Fund, the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development and United Nations. Topics covered include national accounts, industrial production, employment, trade, energy, demography, human development and other indicators of national performance and development.

The micro databanks are survey or questionnaire datasets collected from groups of individuals within a number of different countries. International micro datasets such as Eurobarometer, International Social Survey Programme and the European and World Values Surveys cover a range of social science topics including household and demographic information, income, employment, education and housing. The macro databanks often contain secondary data derived from primary micro data sources.

This is a single sign-on resource - you can access it with your university login or staff ID.

Espacenet Patent Search

Espacenet offers free access to more than 70 million patent documents worldwide, containing information about inventions and technical developments from 1836 to today.

ETHOS

This service provides online searching and online delivery of more than 250,000 theses. Registration is required to download thesis electronically.

G
Gale NewsVault

NewsVault delivers the definitive cross-searching experience for exploring your library's collection of Gale historical newspapers. With the power to search over 10 million digitized facsimile pages, Gale NewsVault provides an unparalleled window to the past.

This is a single sign-on resource - you can access it with your university login or staff ID.

Gartner Research

Gartner offers research and technical solutions for the IT professional.

Login details for this resource are restricted to university staff and students and require a password to view. The password is available from the library helpdesk.

Global Business Browser

Financial data and company/sector information on companies and industries from around the world.

Login details for this resource are restricted to university staff and students and require a password to view. The password is available from the library helpdesk.

GreenFILE (EBSCO)

GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 384,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,700 records.

This is a single sign-on resource - you can access it with your university login or staff ID.

H
Highwire

Full text science archive, specialising in life science, medicine and physical science.

Historical Abstracts

Historical Abstracts covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) focusing on the 15th century forward, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more.

This is a single sign-on resource - you can access it with your university login or staff ID.

History of Advertising Trust Gallery

Online gallery of historic posters and adverts, low resolution images. Please note this is a small sample of the images and posters that the HAT have in their archive.

House of Commons Parliamentary Papers 1688 - 2004

Fully indexed searchable full-text for the entire collection of 19th century House of Commons Parliamentary Papers

This is a single sign-on resource - you can access it with your university login or staff ID.

I
IEEE Explore

IEEE Xplore provides web access to more than 3-million full-text documents from some of the world's most highly cited publications in electrical engineering, computer science and electronics.

This is a single sign-on resource - you can access it with your university login or staff ID.

IHS Standards Expert

IHS Standards Expert offers direct access, tracking and management of over 1.3 million standards, specifications, codes and related documents from government, military and commercial sources.

Login details for this resource are restricted to university staff and students and require a password to view. The password is available from the library helpdesk.

Index to Theses

Abstracts all theses submitted for Higher Degrees in Great Britain.

This title can be accessed from any on-campus library or university PC. No login is required.

Infotrac Science & Technology

A full text database produced by Thompson Gale, covering 50 journals from 1984 to the present.

This is a single sign-on resource - you can access it with your university login or staff ID.

Ingenta Connect

Ingenta Connect is a comprehensive multi-disciplinary document delivery service providing access to thousands of online journals from leading scholarly, academic and business publishers.

This is a single sign-on resource - you can access it with your university login or staff ID.

Institute of Physics

Institute of Physics journal archive. Full text from 1874 to 1998, and access to abstracts of current journal articles.

This is a single sign-on resource - you can access it with your university login or staff ID.

Intered

Intered is a unique online resource providing lesson plan ideas, news, reports and features for teachers and education professionals working in early years, primary and secondary education.

This is a single sign-on resource - you can access it with your university login or staff ID.

Intermid

Archive of the British Journal of Midwifery from 1995.

This is a single sign-on resource - you can access it with your university login or staff ID.

International Bibliography of the Social Sciences

IBSS provides abstracts from social science journals and books from 1951 onwards. Good for topics such as sociology, politics, economics, modern languages, law in society, history and cultural studies.

This is a single sign-on resource - you can access it with your university login or staff ID.

International Bibliography of Theatre and Dance

A specialist index to journal and magazine articles in the fields of drama, dance, performance, film, television and literature. The database also includes full-text access to many of the articles.

This is a single sign-on resource - you can access it with your university login or staff ID.

International Eric

International Eric indexes British, Australian and American education journals covering all aspects and levels of education, including educational policy, history, psychology, sociology and technology.

This is a single sign-on resource - you can access it with your university login or staff ID.

International GAAP Online

Online UK & International GAAP.

Once you have logged in with your University login, click on the Sources tab (at the top of the LexisNexis interface) and then D in the A-Z list, and look for Deloitte iGAAP.

Use the Browse link to look at the contents, or tick Deloitte iGAAP and click the OK - Continue button to search the resource.

This is a single sign-on resource - you can access it with your university login or staff ID.

International Review of Entrepreneurship (journal)

Online access to the International Review of Entrepreneurship - formerly The International Journal of Entrepreneurship Education.

This title can only be accessed from a library or university PC.

International Theatre in Video

Theatre in Video contains more than 100 definitive performances of the world's leading plays, together with more than 60 film documentaries, online in streaming video - more than 250 hours in all.

This resource can be accessed from any library on university PC. No login is required.

Internet Archaeology

Access to the full text of all content of this online journal published since 1996.

This resource can be accessed from any library on university PC. No login is required.

Internurse

Internurse is a full text, searchable database of key UK nursing journals from 1995 to the present.

This is a single sign-on resource - you can access it with your university login or staff ID.

IRS Employment Review

Updates on employment law and HR practices.

Login details for this resource are restricted to university staff and students and require a password to view. The password is available from the library helpdesk.

J
JISC Digital Media

Previously known as TASI, This tool enables you to search for copyright cleared images for your work.

Jisc Historic Books

Access over 350000 historic books. Including EEBO (Early English Books Online), ECCO (Eighteenth Century Collections Online) and 19th Century books from the British Library Collection.

This is a single sign-on resource - you can access it with your university login or staff ID.

Jisc Journal Archives

A selection of journal archives from Brill, Institution of Civil Engineers, Institute of Physics, Proquest, Oxford University Press, Cambridge University Press and the Royal Society of Chemistry.

This is a single sign-on resource - you can access it with your university login or staff ID.

JISC MediaHub

JISC MediaHub is a new multimedia platform offering a wealth of digital image, film and sound collections accessible from a single interface. The new platform offers access to free-at-the-point-of-use images, film and sound content licensed for educational and research use, via an easy-to-use interface, cross-searching across all the collections and the ability to source content from a wide range of content-providers through a thumbnail and metadata search portal.

To log in, click Log in > Search and download via UK federation and follow the instructions. The option you need to select is University of Northampton (IDP).

This is a single sign-on resource - you can access it with your university login or staff ID.

John Johnson Collection

This collection provides access to thousands of items selected from the John Johnson Collection of Printed Ephemera, offering unique insights into the changing nature of everyday life in Britain in the eighteenth, nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. Categories include Nineteenth-Century Entertainment, the Booktrade, Popular Prints, Crimes, Murders and Executions, and Advertising

Jorum

Access to free learning and teaching resources, created and contributed by teaching staff from UK further and higher education institutions.

Journal Citation Reports

Journal Citation Reports offers a systematic, objective means to critically evaluate the world's leading journals, with quantifiable, statistical information based on citation data. By compiling articles' cited references, JCR Web helps to measure research influence and impact at the journal and category levels and shows the relationship between citing and cited journals.

This is a single sign-on resource - you can access it with your university login or staff ID.

Journals@Ovid FT

Full text database covering 1996 to the present. A wide range of journal titles in clinical medicine, behavioural & social sciences, life sciences, nursing and physical science and engineering.

This is a single sign-on resource - you can access it with your university login or staff ID.

JSTOR

Subjects covered include biological sciences, language, literature, film studies, performance arts, folklore, architecture, art history, music, religion and philosophy. Later issues are not included, but some titles go back to the 1880s.

This is a single sign-on resource - you can access it with your university login or staff ID.

JSTOR Plant Science

JSTOR Plant Science is an online environment that brings together global plants content, tools, and people interested in plant science. It provides access to foundational content vital to plant science - plant type specimens, taxonomic structures, scientific literature, and related materials.

K
Key Note

Online version of Key Note market reports. For full access to the reports that are available, select My Reports List.

This is a single sign-on resource - you can access it with your university login or staff ID.

L
Landmap

Landmap provides web-based access to spatial data and learning materials for UK HE and FE. Landmap's optical, radar, elevation and feature collections give a combination of remotely sensed imagery and spatial data information.

You will need to register with the service using your university login details.

This is a single sign-on resource - you can access it with your university login or staff ID.

Lexis Library

Lexis Library is an international database of case law and legislation. It also includes some full-text journals, newspaper articles from major UK newspapers and has a good coverage of company and market reports.

This is a single sign-on resource - you can access it with your university login or staff ID.

LISTA - Library, Information Science and Technology Abstracts

LISTA indexes more than 690 periodicals, plus books, research reports and proceedings. Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloguing, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more. Coverage in the database extends back as far as the mid-1960s.

This is a single sign-on resource - you can access it with your university login or staff ID.

M
Materia

Materia is a knowledge centre for developments and innovations in materials, and their applications for architecture and design.

Access is free, but you will need to register a personal account.

Maternity and Infant Care

This database contains over 120,000 references with abstracts to journal articles from over 550 international English language journals, books, and grey literature relating to pregnancy, labour, birth, postnatal care, and neonatal care and the first year of an infant's life. Database coverage is from the mid-1980s.

This is a single sign-on resource - you can access it with your university login or staff ID.

Medline

An index of 4600 biomedical journals produced by the United States National Library of Medicine, covering 1966 to the present. Useful for all medical topics.

This is a single sign-on resource - you can access it with your university login or staff ID.

Mintel

Major marketing database giving reports on UK consumer markets.

This is a single sign-on resource - you can access it with your university login or staff ID.

MLA Bibliography

MLA Bibliography covers literature from across the world. It includes linguistics and language, literary theory and criticism, dramatic arts and the history of printing and publishing.

This is a single sign-on resource - you can access it with your university login or staff ID.

N
Naxos Music Library

The Naxos Music Library is an online educational resource containing over 245,430 streamed tracks of music in the areas of:

  • Classical Music
  • Contemporary Jazz
  • Jazz/Folk/Blues Legends
  • Nostalgia
  • World/Folk
  • Adult Contemporary
  • Chinese Music
  • Pop and Rock

Login details for this resource are restricted to university staff and students and require a password to view. The password is available from the library helpdesk.

NCBI Bookshelf

In collaboration with authors and publishers, the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) is adapting biomedical books for the web. These are full text web-access books.

Northampton Full Text Collection @Ovid

A full text database supplied by Ovid, with some journals available from 1995. Useful for Nursing, Sports Medicine and Psychology.

This is a single sign-on resource - you can access it with your university login or staff ID.

Nursing Standard archive

A full text archive of Nursing Standard articles, covering 1996 to the present.

This resource is available from any library or university PC.

O
OTseeker

OTseeker is a reference database containing abstracts of systematic reviews and randomised controlled trials, with content from the 1950s to the present. Useful for evidence-based practice in occupational therapy.

Oxford English Dictionary

The definitive record of the English language.

This is a single sign-on resource - you can access it with your university login or staff ID.

Oxford Journal Archive

Access to the pre-1996 volumes of all 164 journals published by Oxford University Press.

This is a single sign-on resource - you can access it with your university login or staff ID.

P
Periodicals Archive Online

Periodicals Archive Online covers the humanities and social sciences in 37 key subject areas. It contains the backfiles of over 500 journals.

This is a single sign-on resource - you can access it with your university login or staff ID.

Physical Education Matters

Login details for this resource are restricted to university staff and students and require a password to view. The password is available from the library helpdesk.

Press Gazette

The Press Gazette covers all the journalism sectors: national and regional press, radio, broadcasting, online, B2B and consumer magazines. It also provides in depth coverage of media law and journalism technology. It is now freely available online, and readers can sign up for newsletters and digests to be sent via email.

Primary Geography

Journal published by Geographical Association. Known as Primary Geographer until 2010.

Login details for this resource are restricted to university staff and students and require a password to view. The password is available from the library helpdesk.

Primary History

Login details for this resource are restricted to university staff and students and require a password to view. The password is available from the library helpdesk.

Primary Physical Education Matters

Login details for this resource are restricted to university staff and students and require a password to view. The password is available from the library helpdesk.

Project Muse

Project MUSE is a leading provider of digital humanities and social science content for the scholarly community. Since 1995 the MUSE journal collections have supported a wide array of research needs at academic, public, special, and school libraries worldwide. MUSE is the trusted source of complete, full-text versions of scholarly journals from many of the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies, with over 120 publishers currently participating. UPCC Book Collections on Project MUSE, launched in January 2012, offer top quality book-length scholarship, fully integrated with MUSE's scholarly journal content.

This is a single sign-on resource - you can access it with your university login or staff ID.

PsycNET - Off campus users

PscyNET is an amalgamation of PsycInfo (which is an abstract database of psychological literature from the 1800s to today) and PsycArticles (which offers access to the full-text of the 63 APA journals).

This is a single sign-on resource - you can access it with your university login or staff ID.

PsycNET - On campus users

PscyNET is an amalgamation of PsycInfo (which is an abstract database of psychological literature from the 1800s to today) and PsycArticles (which offers access to the full-text of the 63 APA journals).

PubMed Central

Full text digital archive of life sciences journal literature, covering the first half of the 20th century to the present. Useful for all aspects of medicine.

Q
Queen Victoria's Journals

A complete on-line collection of Queen Victoria's journals from the Royal Archives, covering the period from Queen Victoria's childhood days to her Accession to the Throne, marriage to Prince Albert, and later, her Golden and Diamond Jubilees.

R
Recal Legacy

The world's most comprehensive database in the field of prosthetics, orthotics and related physical medicine and rehabilitation. Recal Legacy holds 83000 bibliographic records, from the early 1900s to 2007.

RefWorks

RefWorks is an online reference management, writing and collaboration tool. It is designed to help students and researchers easily gather, manage, store and share bibliographic information, as well as generate citations and reference lists.

This is a single sign-on resource - you can access it with your university login or staff ID.

Rock's Backpages Library

12,000 articles, interviews and reviews from the world's best music writers and critics, from the late 1950s to the present day.

This resource is available from any library or university PC. No login is required.

Royal Marsden Manual of Clinical Nursing Procedures

The Royal Marsden Hospital Manual of Clinical Nursing Procedures provides up-to-date, evidence-based clinical skills procedures related to essential aspects of a person's care.

This is a single sign-on resource - you can access it with your university login or staff ID.

S
Safari Tech Books Online

An ebook resource offering full-text access to a selection of technical books.

This is a single sign-on resource - you can access it with your university login or staff ID.

Sage Journals Online

Full text access to electronic journals published by Sage Publications.

This is a single sign-on resource - you can access it with your university login or staff ID.

Science Direct

Science Direct is a full text database of over 1000 journal titles and is produced by Elsevier. It covers 1995 to the present and is a higher level database covering most subject areas.

In order to view search results you will need to click on activate personalisation and complete the form the first time you log into Science Direct.

This is a single sign-on resource - you can access it with your university login or staff ID.

SCPinfonet

SCPinfonet is a free, online resource for the research community, providing easy, centralised access to relevant and up-to-date information about sustainable consumption and production.

Smith's Tax Guide

This is an ebook version of Smith's Tax Guide 2013/14. Please note, the above link takes you to the general web page and you will need to follow the instructions to download this publication.

Login details for this resource are restricted to university staff and students and require a password to view. The password is available from the library helpdesk.

Social Care Online

Social Care Online is the UK's largest database of information on social work and social care. It includes legislation, government documents, practice and guidance, systematic reviews, research briefings and journal articles to events, training materials, video clips and blogs. Social Care Online is a product of the Social Care Institute for Excellence (SCIE).

Sound On Sound

The website for Sound On Sound magazine. Current and past issues are available in print form, with some accessible online.

SPORTDiscus with Full Text

SPORTDiscus with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive source of full text for sports and sports medicine journals, providing full text for 380 journals.

This is a single sign-on resource - you can access it with your university login or staff ID.

SpringerLink

Direct online access to books and journals, fully indexed and searchable. Subject areas:

  • Biological Sciences
  • Computing
  • Engineering
  • Environment
  • Humanities
  • Mathematics and Statistics
  • Medicine and Health
  • Physical Sciences
  • Chemistry

The University of Northampton subscribes to 600 of the 2531 titles in this database. In the list of titles these are indicated by a green icon.

This is a single sign-on resource - you can access it with your university login or staff ID.

SwetsWise

SwetsWise provides access to contents pages and selected full-text articles from 17,000 journals. All subject areas are covered, usually from 1993 or 1997 to the present.

This is a single sign-on resource - you can access it with your university login or staff ID.

T
Taylor and Francis Online

Taylor & Francis Online is the journal content platform for the Taylor & Francis Group. The platform gives online access to all journals from Taylor & Francis and Routledge. A program of retrodigitization means they have articles going back just over 200 years. The collection inlcudes over 1600 full text titles in science and social science subject areas.

This is a single sign-on resource - you can access it with your university login or staff ID.

Teaching Geography

For teachers in secondary schools and colleges, Teaching Geography informs teachers about recent developments, resources and professional development opportunities. Published by the Geographical Association.

Login details for this resource are restricted to university staff and students and require a password to view. The password is available from the library helpdesk.

The Scientific World Journal

An online scientific journal covering subjects ranging from biomedicine to environmental sciences.

This is a single sign-on resource - you can access it with your university login or staff ID.

The TVTimes Project 1955-1985

The TVTimes Project 1955-1985 provides online access to the listings of the London edition of the TVTimes from September 1955 to March 1985.

This is a single sign-on resource - you can access it with your university login or staff ID.

Times Digital Archive

The Times Digital Archive 1785-1985 delivers every page as published from 200 years of The Times (London) and covers all major international historical events from the French Revolution to the Falklands War.

This is a single sign-on resource - you can access it with your university login or staff ID.

Trip Database

Evidence-based medical site offering access to the highest-quality material available on the web.

U
US Patent Office search

Search the US patent office online. Many patents available in full text.

W
WasteNet

Wastenet is a free online resource for the research community, providing easy, centralised access to relevant and up-to-date information about waste and resources research.

Web of Knowledge

The Web of Knowledge Service for UK Education provides a single route to all the Thomson Reuters products subscribed to by your institution.

This is a single sign-on resource - you can access it with your university login or staff ID.

Web of Science

Produced by Thomson ISI, Web of Science is an index to over 14,000 journal titles in Arts & Humanities, Social Sciences and Science subject fields (including abstracts) from 1900 to the present. A good starting point for most subject searches.

This is a single sign-on resource - you can access it with your university login or staff ID.

Westlaw

Westlaw is an international database of legal material including case law and legislation. Use the database to access Legal Journal Index as well as the full-text of many newspapers and journals.

This is a single sign-on resource - you can access it with your university login or staff ID.

WGSN

Research, trend analysis and a news service for the fashion and style industries.

WGSN can be accessed from any library or university PC - click the login link on the homepage to automatically log in.

Wiley Online Library

Access to full-text journals published by Wiley Interscience. Some titles go back to the 1980s. Useful for most subject areas.

This is a single sign-on resource - you can access it with your university login or staff ID.

Z
Zetoc

A reference only database produced by the British Library, indexing over 20,000 research journals and 16,000 conference proceedings from 1993 onwards in all areas of academic study. A good starting point for most subjects.

This is a single sign-on resource - you can access it with your university login or staff ID.